You are here

This is a FREE online event offered via Zoom. Please register here

Author Heather Marshall visits Kitchener Public Library to discuss her debut novel " Looking For Jane",  an instant #1 best-seller.

In conversation with Janet Somerville.

For readers of Joanna Goodman and Genevieve Graham comes a masterful debut novel about three women whose lives are bound together by a long-lost letter, a mother's love, and a secret network of women fighting for the right to choose-inspired by true stories.


Tell them you're looking for Jane.

2017
When Angela Creighton discovers a mysterious letter containing a life-shattering confession in a stack of forgotten mail, she is determined to find the intended recipient...

1971
As a teenager, Dr. Evelyn Taylor was sent to a home for "fallen" women where she was forced to give up her baby for adoption-a trauma she has never recovered from...

1980
After discovering a shocking secret about her family history, twenty-year-old Nancy Mitchell begins to question everything she has ever known. When she unexpectedly becomes pregnant, she feels like she has no one to turn to for help. 

Weaving together the lives of three women, Looking for Jane is an unforgettable debut about the devastating consequences that come from a lack of choice-and the enduring power of a mother's love.

---

Heather Marshall lives with her family near Toronto. She completed master's degrees in Canadian history and political science, and worked in politics and communications before turning her attention to her true passion: storytelling. Looking for Jane is her debut novel. Visit her website and connect on social channels at HeatherMarshallAuthor.com.

Janet Somerville taught literature for 25 years in Toronto. She served on the PEN Canada Board and chaired many benefits that featured writers including Diana Athill, Margaret Atwood, Roddy Doyle, Stephen King, Alice Munro, Azar Nafisi and Ian Rankin. She writes about historical fiction for the Toronto Star and has been handwriting a #LetterADay for 7 years. Since 2016 she has had ongoing access to Martha Gellhorn's restricted papers. Yours, for Probably Always: Martha Gellhorn's Letters of Love & War 1930-1949 is her first book. Follow her @janetsomerville.
date: 
Tuesday, April 5, 2022 -
7:00pm to 8:00pm
Location Term: 
Room / Space Term: 
Age Group Term: 
Evanced Id: 
49 759
Registration Required: