Contact the
Teen Librarian

519-743-0271 ext 277

kevin.page@kpl.org

 

 

Decrease Text Size  Reset Font Size  Increase Text Size

Book Reviews

 

Read a book lately? Did you love it? Loathe it? Still thinking about it?

 

Write a review and share your thoughts with other teens.

 

 

 

September 16, 2013

Pivot Point

Written by: Kasie West

Reviewed by: Melinda

 

This book defines the word AMAZING -- I couldn't put it down! The main character, Addie, lives in a compound where people with special mind powers are separated from the rest of the humans (the Norms). Addie is Divergent: she has the ability to see two alternate futures when faced with a decision so she can be sure to choose the right one. This book alternates between the two different possible futures when her parents get divorced, and Addie has to choose between staying with her mother in the Compound or leaving the place she'd spent her entire life just to be with her dad. And with a mystery aspect along with the supernatural, trust me when I say it isn't as simple as it sounds ... but it IS as FANTASTIC as it sounds!

 

 

 

 

June 10, 2013

The Scorpio Races

Written by: Maggie Stiefvater

Reviewed by: Katrina

 

This book is a complete page turner. It's very easy to get glued to this story. Unexpectedly, a girl takes part in the deadly Scorpio races. She risks her life to keep to keep her family going as she struggles to stay alive. This tale is very alive, very captivating, not like just any fantasy novel. This is sure worth the time reading and leaves a strong impact on readers.

 

 

 

 

May 13, 2013

Slated

Written by: Teri Terry

Reviewed by: Chris

 

In the future, teens accused of the worst crimes are "slated" - their memory is removed and they're given a new life and personality. Kyla is sure she didn't commit the crime she was accused of, and wonders if it's the same for the others who were slated. "Can you know the truth if your memory has been erased?" If you're a fan of Scott Westerfeld, you'll definitely like this book!

 

 

 

 

May 9, 2013

Vessel

Written by: Sarah Beth Durst

Reviewed by: Tee

 

This book was really hard to put down! It's the story of a girl who has trained her entire life to be a vessel for her tribe’s goddess. But her goddess doesn't appear, and she is cast aside by her tribe. You really get into the story, and the character, as she treks across the desert to find the goddess and find out why she was abandoned.

 

 

 

 

May 7, 2013

The Assault

Written by: Brian Falkner

Reviewed by: G.

 

It's 2030, and the earth is under seige. A group of teens, who have been training for months, go on an undercover mission to infiltrate the alien army. One of them is traitor ... but who? If you love sci-fi, this thriller is for you!

 

 

 

 

April 11, 2013

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

Written by: J.K. Rowling

Reviewed by: Zoe

 

I loved the book. So exciting and emotional. The ending is great! Read the series in order, you have some great books to look forward to in this series if you decide to give them a shot!

 

 

 

 

April 11, 2013

Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone

Written by: J.K. Rowling

Reviewed by: Zoe

 

The book is okay! Note to others who haven't started the series; just try to get through it - the story may seem like it is boring and goes on forever at first, but the series gets way better.

 

 

 

 

February 21, 2013

Blood Red Road

Written by: Moira Young

Reviewed by: J.

 

This book is set in an apocalyptic world, full of deserts, heat, and no technology. The main character goes on a journey through dangerous and dusty lands to save her.brother, who was kidnapped by masked stangers. The writing takes a bit to get used to, but by the end you'll see how it really described the characters and the mood more than words ever could. An amazing book that will make you want more (and more is coming)! If you liked The Hunger Games, Divergent, The Maze Runner, or The Host, give this book a try. You won't regret it!

 

 

 

 

February 17, 2013

House of Night (series)

Written by: P.C. Cast and Kristin Cast

Reviewed by: Jeni D.

 

This series is something you want to read right to the end! If you like action and romance novels, you'll want to read this. There are no slow spots and it's all about putting the antagonists in their place. Just when you think there isn't any more, the authors put a twist in the end of each book so you will want to read the next. Dragon's Oath and Lenobia's Vow in particular show you why those characters are the way they are. All in all the books are good all around.

 

 

 

 

January 5, 2013

I, Emma Freke

Written by: Elizabeth Atkinson

Reviewed by: Meghan

 

This book is so hard to put down. It is about a girl named Emma who thinks she weird because her last name is Freke and she has red locks and doesn't go to school. I think my favourite part in this book is when she meet the guy that gets her into a whole lot of trouble.

 

 

 

 

November 19, 2012

Kill Me Softly

Written by: Sara Cross

Reviewed by: Jane

 

I love this book so much! I couldn't put it down and I wanted to be a part of the story. It's a wild twist on child fairytales but it's ten times better. I could just read it over and over and over again. It's the best book ever and definitely worth your time.

 

 

 

 

November 10, 2012

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

Written by: J.K. Rowling

Reviewed by: Marcella

 

The final book in the series is tragic and amazing at the same time. It will answer all your questions and leave you wanting more.

 

 

 

 

October 10, 2012

Lord of the Flies

Written by: William Golding

Reviewed by: Veronica

 

I read this book for school. i was worried that it would be not my style, but it was definitely worth it. A group of stranded boys aged 6-12 is suffering with island life while WWII goes on just above their heads. Will anyone ever find them or are Jack, Ralph, Piggy, Simon and the rest doomed to a life on a desert island alone without the comforts of cushy english life?

 

 

 

 

August 27, 2012

Undergrounders

Written by: David Skuy

Reviewed by: Renée

 

This book is about a boy named Jonathon, who is living on the streets because his mom died and his dad left. I think this book is great for teen readers who love hockey. It's a great example of how much one kid, living in the streets, can do and change.  Living two different lives is hard for Jonathon, but he still manages to find money and food while playing on a real hockey team. The book was great and I think anyone would love reading it.

 

 

 

 

August 26, 2012

Darklight

Written by: Lesley Livingston

Reviewed by: Kiara

 

I like the book Darklight by Lesley Livingston because it has romance and action! It's about a fairie girl named Kelly and a fairie boy named Sonny. There are five realms - summer, fall, winter, spring and the mortal realm. They are seperated by secret doors. Sonny is in the fairie realm and Kelly is in the mortal realm. They love each other but when evil leprechauns are after Kelly, Sonny needs to save her. She knows something Sonny doesn't. If u like romance and action this is a great book to read!

 

 

 

 

August 26, 2012

Eragon

Written by: Christopher Paolini

Reviewed by: Raina

 

Eragon is a great book. It has action when Eragon finds a stone which is a dragon egg. What Eragon doesn't know is that once he touches a dragon he is bonded to it for life. In the meantime an elf named Arya is held captive by a shade. This brings Eragon into a journey that a poor farm boy would far from dream of. Along the way he finds things he would have never known.

 

 

 

 

August 24, 2012

Cross My Heart and Hope to Spy

Written by: Ally Carter

Reviewed by: Valentina

 

This book was awesome. ;) It is interesting but at the same time exciting, you always want to read more. I recommend it, seriously it is a good book.

 

 

 

 

August 18, 2012

The Lying Game

Written by: Sara Shepard

Reviewed by: Cassi

 

This book was really good! Some parts made me want to keep reading and not stop. I recommend you to try it out. If you like books about girls lives,and thriller books. You will defiantly like this one! :)

 

 

 

 

August 16, 2012

Devilish

Written by: Maureen Johnson

Reviewed by: Natalie

 

The novel "Devilish" had me hooked with its complex plot almost at once. Maureen delivered a story packed with supernatural surpsises and unexpected twists!

 

 

 

 

August 16, 2012

Girl Out Loud

Written by: Emily Gale

Reviewed by: Veronica

 

Kass Kenedy just wants to be normal, but her father sees a light in her that just isn't there! Audition after audition, failure after failure, he doesn't get it Kass is not star material - she is just a normal girl. She thinks she has lost her friends and her mom has done the unthinkable with he worst person possible. She can't do the audition but doesn't want her dad to slip away again, this time maybe forever ... great read!

 

 

 

 

August 4, 2012

Anyone But You

Written by: Lara Zeises

Reviewed by: Heather

 

This book is incredible. It is about a girl being left with her stepmom and her sons, and what happens when a maybe boyfriend enters her life, and the many girls that her oldest brother and best friend has, and her father coming back into her life. This story is told by two different perspectives, one is the girl Sea and the other is her oldest brother and best friend of her. The entire story is amazing for the changes in the teenagers lives.

 

 

 

 

August 3, 2012

Ghost Knight

Written by: Cornelia Funke

Reviewed by: Luke

 

I like this book, Ghost Knight, because it is full of action and suspense. There is also lots of detail and description, and that creates a real image of what is happening. I would rate this book 6.5/10.

 

 

 

 

July 19, 2012

Uglies

Written by: Scott Westerfeld

Reviewed by: Mallory

 

Uglies starts out making you think being ugly is bad and that you won't be happy until you are pretty. At least, that is what everyone thinks. On their 16th birthday, an ugly gets an operation to turn pretty. Now everyone has turned except for Tally and Shay. When Shay runs away to the place called The Smoke, where uglies hide from being pretty, Tally is forced to be a spy or else she will never be pretty. When she arrives she changes her mind, but something goes wrong. Now Tally has to save the others and will have to make a choice that may change everything. While reading this book you will feel a mix of emotions whirling inside of you. You will be wanting them to turn pretty, hating Tally for not telling on The Smokies, feeling guilty for wanting Tally to tell on them and wanting to hit Shay really hard on the head and tell her to wake up and stop being pretty! READ THE BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

 

 

 

 

July 15, 2012

Matched

Written by: Ally Condie

Reviewed by: Kaylyn

 

When 16 year old Cassia is matched with her best friend Xander, she is thrilled until another familiar face flashes on the screen, Ky. Cassia knows that Xander is the society's match for her but can't help her feelings Ky. Cassia will have to choose between the society's choice and her hearts choice. I liked this book because the message encourages people to make their own decisions, and not rely only on what other people tell them is right.

 

 

 

 

July 14, 2012

The Hat Trick

Written by: Tom Earle

Reviewed by: Alexa

 

This book is a sports romance. A young boy named Ricky Phillips is choosen to play for the Barrie Colts in the OHL. He is a great player and eventually makes it to play in the NHL for the San Jose Sharks. But when a misplaced punch turns deadly, Ricky is forced to question everything he knows and loves about the game. Anyone who loves hockey or likes to watch hockey would love this book.

 

 

 

 

July 7, 2012

A Series of Unfortunate Events

Written by: Lemony Snicket

Reviewed by: Rachael

 

This series is about the 3 Baudilaire children's adventures after their parents are killed in a fire, and they meet their distant family member the horrid Count Olaf. This series is hard to put down. Occasionally Mr.Poe and the other adults' obliviousness will drive you crazy, but you still will want to pick it back up after you've thrown it against the wall and keep reading. I'd have to say my favourite part is all the sneaky allusion such as Isadora and Duncan Quagmire named after the famous dancer Isadora Duncan.

 

 

 

 

July 4, 2012

Wither

Written by: Lauren DeStefano

Reviewed by: Erika

 

Imagine a world where all diseases and sicknesses have been cured. Unfortunately this has caused some problems. Males only live to age 25 and females 20. The population is dying out fast and the only way to prevent this is to force young women to become brides. We follow Rhine, a 16 year old girl who is imposed into one of these marriages. Can Rhine escape and reunite with her twin brother before her years are up?

 

Set in a very realistic future, this piece of fiction is simply amazing! I truly thought this was such an entrancing book. I remember I had my doubts when I first picked it up, but it really surprised me! I could relate to the character well and understand why the main character decided to do the things she did. I'm also absolutely thrilled it's a trilogy and I've already read the second and am anticipating the third. So I invite you to read this beautiful and mysterious novel because you'll understand why I fell in love with it and wither into its contents.

 

 

 

 

July 3, 2012

Prom and Prejudice

Written by: Elizabeth Eulberg

Reviewed by: Mallory

 

This is a twisted,confusing and emotional book about love, truth, and true riches, proving that it is not all about the money.

 

 

 

 

July 3, 2012

Neil Flambé and the Marco Polo Murderers

Written by: Kevin Sylvester

Reviewed by: Arina

 

Neil Flambé and the Marco Polo Murderers is a classic and funny mystery, so this riddle will keep its readers engaged, and wanting to read the rest of the series. Kevin Sylvester has created very life-like and comical characters, each with their own personality, making this mystery very much like a real case. I would personally recommend this novel to older youth and young adults, even some as old chef Ramsay, because this novel is perfect for those who haven’t read a good mystery in a long time - especially one as funny as this one.

 

 

 

 

June 27, 2011

Ender's Game

Written by: Orson Scott Card

Reviewed by: Isobel

 

Ender's Game is one of my absolute favorite books! Orson Scott Card did a great job of keeping the characters realistic, even when the setting was so 'out there'.

 

 

 

 

June 26, 2012

I am Number Four

Written by: Pittacus Lore

Reviewed by: April

 

After their home planet Lorien was destroyed by another alien race, nine loric with powers and their guardians come to Earth to hide from the ones killing them one by one in order of their numbers. Their mission: to prevent Earth from having the same fate as Lorien. Well-written and full of action, including teens with superpowers, magic, and aliens. Any teen who reads this book will love it.

 

 

 

 

March 13, 2012

Reasons to Be Happy

Written by: Katrina Kittle

Reviewed by: Rebecca

 

I loved how realistically the author portrays Hannah's struggle through this book. It changed the way I look at things and showed me how much I take for granted. FIVE STARS!!!!

 

 

 

 

March 4, 2012

Song of the Sparrow

Written by: Lisa Ann Sandell

Reviewed by: Brittany

 

This book is amazing. Taking place in the battle camp of King Arthur, the main character Elaine, is the only girl. she helps the men prepare and heal before, during and after battle. it's a tale of a true heroine, this book is great, and I highly recommend it to the young adult/ teen/ tween readers around here!

 

 

 

 

February 25, 2012

You Don't Know About Me

Written by: Brian Meehl

Reviewed by: Veronica

 

This book is ... different ... but good different!!! Definately read this, I loved it and couldn't put it down! Watch as Billy runs away from the Jesus-crested Whack-a-moles, to find out the truth about Richard Allbright!

 

 

 

 

December 29, 2011

The Lab

Written by: Jack Heath

Reviewed by: Vikki W.

 

Although the protagonist doesn't have much of a personality, he still is incredibly interesting to read about, and the action scenes are extremely well-written. It's like a more action and sci-fi packed version of 'Maximum Ride'. Absolutely recommended.

 

 

 

 

December 26, 2011

We All Fall Down

Written by: Eric Walters

Reviewed by: Sarah D.

 

This book is the best book ever written and it will leave a lasting impression on you. It describes the horrific events of 9/11 and how it changed one boy's life forever. LOVE IT! :)

 

 

 

 

December 15, 2011

Aurelia

Written by: Ann Osterlund

Reviewed by: Brittany L.

 

This book is absolutely amazing. It's full of murder, decite, romance, and lies. Aurelia is one of the best books i have ever read! I recommend you borrow this book right away! I promise, you won't regret it. once you start, you can't stop!

 

 

 

 

October 26, 2011

The Hollow

Written by: Jessica Verday

Reviewed by: Sabrina

 

This book is amazing, it has a ghost, a mystery and a epic forbiden romance. If you love any of the above you will love The Hollow!

 

 

 

 

October 7, 2011

House of Night (series)

Written by: P.C. Cast

Reviewed by: Emily

 

BEST.  SERIES.  EVER!  I'll admit the first book started off really boring and confusing but after a few chapters everything gets clearer and then you are 150% hooked from there on!  I am honestly almost jumping up and down waiting for BOOK 9: Destined to come out.  Honestly, READ THIS SERIES!  Vampyres (that is how it is spelled in the book) are in the book, but it is nothing like Twilight.  I think it is better.

 

 

 

 

September 31, 2011

Jane Eyre

Written by: Charlotte Bronte

Reviewed by: April

 

This was one of the best books that I have ever read! It is rather slow at first but once it picks up it holds the reader's interest until the very last page is turned. This book is sure to satisfy anyone who craves a good romance, a GREAT mystery, and drama! The heroine is Jane Eyre, an orphan neglected by her family and educators, who despite her misfortunes grows into a strong and virtuous girl. You will find yourself rooting for her and feeling like you are living her experiences. Though it is set in a different time, it is a breath of fresh air to read something that is set in the 1800's and learn more about the way of life back then.

 

 

 

 

September 17, 2011

13 Days to Midnight

Written by: Patrick Carmen

Reviewed by: Dahne

 

If you could Have any super power, what would it be?  Jacob Fielding's foster father is killed in a car-crash which Jacob amazingly survives. When his new crush Opeliah has a terrible accident after he writes 'YOU ARE INDISTRUCTABLE' on her the cast on her arm, she also survives unscathed. Along with his best friend Milo, Jacob and Ophelia search for unaswered questions about this power and his foster-father's past.

 

 

 

 

September 8, 2011

Rosario + Vampire: Vampires

Written by: Akihisa Ikeda

Reviewed by: Gareth M.

 

This is definitely my new favorite manga. I have just recently started reading it and now I have been reading 1-2 books from the series a day.

 

 

 

 

September 3, 2011

Read My Lips

Written by: Teri Brown

Reviewed by: Bianca T.

 

This book is the perfect thing to read if you want to see an example of major peer pressure. Beautifully written, and great characterization!

 

 

 

 

September 2, 2011

Starcrossed

Written by: Josephine Angelini

Reviewed by: Jennifer L.

 

Amazing!  Loved it!  A cross between Twilight and Percy Jackson. Can't wait for Book 2 in the trilogy!